Skip to Content

Explore your library catalogue

Simple search: enter Author name, Title or ISBN e.g. Hunger Games Suzanne Collins

Hidden figures

Hidden figures

Wallfisch, Benjamin, music; Henson, Taraji P., actor; Melfi, Theodore, director; Spencer, Octavia, actor; Monáe, Janelle, actor; Williams, Pharrell, music; Zimmer, Hans, music; Shetterly, Margot Lee, book author

Octavia Spencer and Taraji P. Henson star in this drama inspired by the true story of NASA's ambitious program that helped America beat the Russians to the moon. As NASA's leading minds struggle to work out complicated maths problems in the lead-up to the launch of John Glenn (Glen Powell)'s Apollo 11 space mission, the Agency brings in a group of African-American women with the reputation of being human computers. As Dorothy Vaughn (Spencer), Katherine Johnson (Henson) and Mary Jackson (Janelle Monáe) put their brains to the test, calculating the flight trajectories for Project Mercury and the mission to the moon, their jobs must be done while also trying to prove wrong those who think women, especially black women, do not belong in the workplace. The cast also includes Kevin Costner, Jim Parsons and Kirsten Dunst. The film was nominated for two Golden Globe Awards for Best Performance By an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture (Spencer) and Best Original Score - Motion Picture (Hans Zimmer/Benjamin Wallfisch/Pharrell Williams), and three Academy Awards, including Best Picture and Best Supporting Actress (Spencer)

DVD. English. Feature : Drama.
Published 20th Century Fox Home Ent., 2017
from 15 users

No availability records for this item


Statement of responsibility: director, Theodore Melfi; producer, Pharrell Williams; producer, Peter Chernin; producer, Donna Gigliotti; producer, Theodore Melfi; producer, Jenno Topping; writer, Allison Schroeder; writer, Theodore Melfi
EAN: 5039036080170
BBFC classification: PG
Note: Extras to be confirmed, Region 2, 1 disc(s), Interactive menus, Languages (English), Commentary (Audio commentary by Theodore Melfi and Taraji P. Henson), Other documentaries ('It All Adds Up'; 'No Limits: The Life of Katherine Johnson'; Moving the Decimal: Honoring Katherine Johnson';), Image gallery.
Note: Made in 2016.
Note: Based on a true story/The book by Margot Lee Shetterly.
Note: Credits: music, Benjamin Wallfisch; music, Pharrell Williams; music, Hans Zimmer; cinematographer, Mandy Walker.
Note: DVDN.
Performers: Cast: Octavia Spencer, Taraji P. Henson, Janelle Monáe, Kevin Costner, Kirsten Dunst, Jim Parsons, Glen Powell, Mahershala Ali, Aldis Hodge, Kimberly Quinn.
Physical Description: 1 videodisc (127 min.) : col.
System: DVD.
Other Number: 5039036080170
Publisher Number: 6954101000