Skip to Content

Explore your library catalogue

Simple search: enter Author name, Title or ISBN e.g. Hunger Games Suzanne Collins

Learning to swim and other stories

Learning to swim and other stories

Swift, Graham, 1949-

This is a collection of short stories from the acclaimed Graham Swift, author of the 1996 Booker Prize winner, 'Last Orders'. Originally published separately in magazines, they include titles such as 'Seraglio' and 'The Watch'

Book. English.
Published London: Picador, 2010
Rate this

No availability records for this item


Statement of responsibility: Graham Swift
ISBN: 0330518267, 9780330518260
Note: Originally published.: London: London Magazine Editions, 1982.
Physical Description: 214 p. ; 20 cm.
Subject: Short stories.
Alternative Title: Learning to swim

Author note

Graham Swift was born in 1949 and is the author of many acclaimed novels, two collections of short stories (England and Other Stories, and Learning to Swim and Other Stories) and Making an Elephant, a book of essays, portraits, poetry and reflections on his life in writing. With Waterland he won the Guardian Fiction Prize (1983), and with Last Orders the Booker Prize (1996). Both novels have since been made into films. Graham Swift's work has appeared in over thirty languages.