Skip to Content

Recent lists

  1. LGBTQ+ Middle Grade

    LGBTQ+ Middle Grade added 24th June

    Books by and about LGBT people, families, relationships, and history for children ages 8-12.

  2. LGBTQ+ Representation

    LGBTQ+ Representation added 24th June

    Books for children ages 0-12 that include representation of LGBT people, children, and families, though without being the focus of the books.

  3. LGBTQ+ Books for Children

    LGBTQ+ Books for Children added 24th June

    Non-fiction and picture books for kids ages 0-8.

  4. Young, Black, wild and free: The best of Black YA/Teen Reads

    Young, Black, wild and free: The best of Black YA/Teen Reads added 18th June

    A non-exhaustive list of our favourite Black-authored books for teenagers and young adults

  5. Black Excellence: brilliant books by black authors for young readers!
  6. This Book list is Anti-Racist: A booklist for young readers and their families

    This Book list is Anti-Racist: A booklist for young readers and their families added 12th June

    A list of Wandsworth Libraries books for children of all ages and their families to start conversations about, or broaden understandings of, race, racism, and antiracism.

  7. What a Wonderful World: Eco-themed picture books

    What a Wonderful World: Eco-themed picture books added 28th May

    Picture books selected to introduce and prompt discussions oof climate change and environmentalism with preschoolers and other young children. This librarian-curated list was developed as part of Wandsworth Library's collaboration with Polg-olution, in summer 2020.

  8. Protecting our Planet: Climate Justice and Environment Books for 7+

    Protecting our Planet: Climate Justice and Environment Books for 7+ added 28th May

    Fantastic books to explore climate justice and environmentalism with children between ages 7 and 12. This librarian-curated list was developed as part of Wandsworth Library's collaboration with Polg-olution, in summer 2020.

  9. Ha-ha-hilarious books for 7 to 12s!

    Ha-ha-hilarious books for 7 to 12s! added 1st August 2019

    Laugh out loud books for fans of Tom Gates, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, etc

  10. Read the Rainbow! LGBTQIA+ Inclusive Books for Children and their Families

    Read the Rainbow! LGBTQIA+ Inclusive Books for Children and their Families added 3rd June 2019

    As librarians, we believe that all children deserve to see themselves and their experiences reflected in the books they read. At the same time, children need books which show them other people’s experiences, as well as books which let them move between worlds and discover other ways of being. Wherever you’re coming from, we think this collection is a good place to start exploring, and hope that you’ll find your own stories and some new perspectives among these pages.

Web feed for lists