Skip to Content

Results 1 - 10 of 100

Arthur & Sherlock: Conan Doyle and the creation of Holmes

By Sims, Michael
Book. English.
Published Bloomsbury, 2017
'Fascinating . A stimulating contribution to our never-ending fascination with Holmes himself, and, even more perhaps, his genial creator' Sunday Times...

Line of fire

By McNab, Andy
Book. English.
Published Bantam Press, 2017
Nick Stone is back in an up-to-the-minute thriller - ripped fresh from the headlines. Stone has returned to London. Both the UK and the US are in a state of unrest and ever more extreme politicians are looking to take advantage of an unstable world. Their motives are unclear. But

The other Mrs Walker

By Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Book. English.
Published Picador, 2016
The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters. -- Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month March 2017 -- Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, p

The Queen of Whale Cay

By Summerscale, Kate
Book. English.
Published Bloomsbury, 2012
Born in 1900 to a promiscuous American oil heiress and a British army captain, Marion Barbara Carstairs realised very early on that she was not like most...

Forest mage

By Hobb, Robin
Book. English.
Published London: Harper Voyager, 2007
While the King's Cavalla Academy recover from the terrible Speck plague, Nevare Burvelle returns home to his family, fiance and a shocking revelation....

Ghosts of empire

By Mann, George
Book. English.
Published Titan Books, 2017
In the aftermath of the events seen in Ghosts of Karnak, and with the political climate somewhat eased, Gabriel takes Ginny to London by airship to recuperate...

Persephone

By Stockwin, Julian
Book. English.
Published Hodder, 2017
Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story - Julian Stockwin returns with the next installment of action from Captain Sir Thomas Kydd...

The good lieutenant

By Terrell, Whitney
Book. English.
Published Picador, 2016
Whitney Terrell's remarkable novel of the Iraq War, The Good Lieutenant, literally starts with a bang, as an operation led by Lieutenant Emma Fowler goes...

Red dust road

By Kay, Jackie
Book. English.
Published Picador, 2010
'Like the best memoirs, this one is written with novelistic and poetic flair. Red Dust Road is a fantastic, probing and heart-warming read' Independent...

SAS ghost patrol: the ultra-secret unit that posed as Nazi Stormtroopers

By Lewis, Damien
Book. English.
Published Quercus, 2017
The Ultra-Secret Unit That Posed As Nazi StormtroopersThe Most Daring Mission Ever Undertaken SAS Ghost Patrol is the explosive true story of the day in 1942 when the SAS donned Nazi uniforms to perpetrate the most audacious an
Search results in RSS