Skip to Content
Presence: Collected stories

Presence: Collected stories

Miller, Arthur

In his lifetime the great American playwright Arthur Miller published two highly regarded collections of stories, I Don't Need You Any More (1967) and Homely Girl, a Life (1995). Shortly after his death in 2005 a final collection, Presence (2007), appeared. Now, all eighteen of these stories are gathered together in one volume for the first time, including the six from Presence, previously only published in the USA. In his plays Miller took on the big themes of the day, putting stories of the Depression, wartime deceit and the McCarthy era on stage with an energy and passion not seen before and rarely since. In these stories he turns his attention to smaller, more intimate themes, yet still brings to bear the profound insight, humanism, empathy and wit of his work for the theatre. Including the early, O. Henry Award-winning 'I Don't Need You Anymore', the original story of 'The Misfits' on which the film was based, and the beautiful late story ' Presence', this collection offers a fresh perspective on the great writer and his work, here informed by an unusual sensuality and delicacy. When Homely Girl, a Life was published in America the critic for the New York Times wrote of those three stories: 'The ability to sum up in clear, unequivocal prose the essence of emotion, a situation, a theme - characteristic of Mr Miller's best writing - makes the reader wish that these stories were longer, and that there were more of them.' At last there are. Praise for Lonely Girl, a Life 'Chekhovian deserves praising to the top of the highest sky-scraper for their humanity, wit, depth' A. N. Wilson 'These stories remind us that the distinguished playwright is a good writer period' Los Angeles Times Book Review

Hardback, Book. English. Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945).
Published London : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC : [distributor] Macmillan Distribution (MDL) : [distributor] United Book Distributors : [distributor] United Book Distributors : [distributor] Jonathan Ball Publishers SA : [distributor] Trafalgar Square 2009
Rate this

No copies available at branches.

  • ELGIN – Earliest copy due back 10th March

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status
    20280195 ADULT FICTION 813.52 ADULT FICTION Overdue (was due back 10th March)


Statement of responsibility: Arthur Miller
Distributor: London: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC; [distributor] Macmillan Distribution (MDL); [distributor] United Book Distributors; [distributor] United Book Distributors; [distributor] Jonathan Ball Publishers SA; [distributor] Trafalgar Square, 2009
ISBN: 140880154X, 9781408801543
Note: Hardback.
Biography: Arthur Miller was one of America's greatest playwrights, whose works include Death of a Salesman, The Crucible, A View from the Bridge and All My Sons. He was awarded the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. In addition to the plays, his many other books included fiction, essays and the autobiography Time Bends. Bloomsbury will also publish his Journals in two volumes in 2010 and 2011.
Physical Description: 400 p. ; 23x15 cm.
Subject: Miller, Arthur,; Short stories, American.; General.