Skip to Content
To love and to cherish

To love and to cherish

Andrews, Lyn

The 'Catherine Cookson of Liverpool (Northern Echo), Lyn Andrews, is at her compelling best in this dramatic saga perfect for readers of Maureen Lee and Donna Douglas. Life in 1920s Liverpool for sisters Gloria and Betty Jenkins is secure and comfortable. As Chief Steward on the SS Amazonia, their father Harry is often away, but Sal is a capable, warm-hearted mother. Gloria finds romance with the boy next door, until her wealthy, but snobbish and interfering, Aunt Sybil steps in, offering her the opportunity of a lifetime. A trip to New York gives Gloria everything she desires - including a wealthy husband. Meanwhile, Betty chooses a career at sea, which offers challenges, personal danger and romance. But with the Wall Street Crash of 1929 tragedy strikes. Through the trials that lie ahead, the sisters come to value the bonds of family more than ever. Will they eventually achieve the happiness they desire?

Paperback, Book. English. Domestic fiction.
Published London: Headline, 2011

Available at Central Lending and Moor Allerton.

  • Central Lending – One available in Adult Fiction

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status
    50839306 Adult Fiction Adult fiction Available
  • Moor Allerton – One available in Adult Fiction

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status
    5082872X Adult Fiction Adult fiction Available

Details

Statement of responsibility: Lyn Andrews
ISBN: 0755371836, 9780755371839
Note: Originally published: 2010.
Note: Formerly CIP.
Physical Description: 469 p. ; 20 cm.
Subject: Sisters Fiction.; Family violence Fiction.; New York (N.Y.) History 1898-1951 Fiction.; Liverpool (England) Social conditions 20th century Fiction.

Author note

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
www.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @LynSagaAuthor