Skip to Content


McEwan, Ian

'Atonement' is the novel for which Ian McEwan will always be remembered. Enthralling in its depiction of childhood, love and war, class and England, at its centre is a profound and profoundly moving exploration of shame and forgiveness

Paperback, Book. English.
Published London: Vintage, 2007

No availability records for this item


Statement of responsibility: Ian McEwan
ISBN: 0099507382, 9780099507383
Note: Film tie-in.
Note: Originally published: London: Jonathan Cape, 2001.
Physical Description: 371 p. ; 20 cm.

Author note

Ian McEwan is a critically acclaimed author of short stories and novels for adults, as well asThe Daydreamer, a children's novel illustrated by Anthony Browne. His first published work, a collection of short stories,First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels includeThe Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award,The Cement Garden,Enduring Love,Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize,Atonement,Saturday,

On Chesil Beach, Solar, Sweet ToothandThe Children Act.


"A magnificient novel"
Independent||"A beautiful and majestic fictional panorama"||"A superb achievement"
Sunday Times||"Brilliantly explores the currents of guilt, shame and anger... Utterly satisfying, complete"
Scotsman||"Smoulders with slow-burning menace"
The Times