Skip to Content
The way back to us

The way back to us

Langdale, Kay, author

Anna and Tom's marriage has been bent out of shape since their youngest son was diagnosed with the genetically inherited condition spinal muscular atrophy as a baby. As Anna becomes increasingly introverted and focused on five-year-old Teddy, the needs of her older son and husband start to fall by the wayside. It is only when Tom finds himself drawn to colleague Eliza that they are forced to look at what is happening to their family and tell each other how they feel once and for all

Paperback, Book. English. General.
Published London: Hodder, 2017

No availability records for this item

Details

Statement of responsibility: Kay Langdale
ISBN: 1473618363, 9781473618367
Physical Description: 274 pages ; 20 cm

Author note

Kay Langdale is the author of seven novels: The Silence Between Us, The Comfort of Others, Away From You,

Choose Me, Her Giant Octopus Moment, What the Heart Knows (Rowohlt, Germany) and Redemption (Transita; published as If Not Love by Thomas Dunne Books.) Visit Kay's website at www.kaylangdale.com. Follow her on Twitter: @KayLangdale.

Reviews

I am truly sorry that it has taken me this long to discover such a talented and insightful writer because I absolutely adored THE COMFORT OF OTHERS . . . [it] is a perfect blend of friendship and the importance of forgiveness. I will certainly be seeking out more from Kay Langdale in the future...||A beautiful and insightful writer . . . I loved this book so much . . . I savoured every word of it.
newbooksmag||A harrowing back story blends in with a modern tale of displacement; bringing a perfect novel of gentle friendship and respect . . . If you are a fan of Maggie O'Farrell or enjoyed the wonderfulElizabeth Is Missing by Emma Healey, this is the perfect read for you. It is a book written with beautiful words, endearing characters and is a tale of trust and mutual respect, no matter what your age...||Praise for Kay Langdale's other novels||Reading it on the train I had to fight not to sob in public... Langdale is a wonderful writer
Daily Mail on AWAY FROM YOU||I am a mess of tears on the train. Can't remember the last time a book broke my heart so much...
Lucy Dillon, author of A HUNDRED PIECES OF ME on AWAY FROM YOU||Langdale's psychological intelligence informs every angle of a thoroughly contemporary tragedy.
The Times on AWAY FROM YOU||Kay Langdale has managed to blend a heartbreaking story with one filled with hope, humour and honesty . . . She is an author that deserves more attention. She writes with genuine feeling, delightful prose and gives the reader a satisfying experience while connecting with her characters. Bordering contemporary and literary fiction, she is definitely one to check out. Ideal for fans of Maggie O'Farrell or Anna McPartlin.