Skip to Content

Library Catalogue

King Flashypants and the evil emperor

King Flashypants and the evil emperor

Riley, Andy, author, illustrator

Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants. But when the money runs out, Edwin finds himself in a fix. Cue the arrival of evil Emperor Nurbison, in his pointy-collared black cloak and accompanied by scary striding music. He has had his eye on Edwin's kingdom for a while and intends to use the peasants' unhappiness to his advantage! When the emperor builds a fake dragon out of a cow, green crepe paper, furry monster novelty slippers and two birthday cake candles, to scare the peasants, Edwin knows it's time to come up with the first sneaky plan he's ever had in his life

Paperback, Book. English. Fiction 7+. Children's stories. General.
Published London: Hodder Children's Books, 2016
Rated
from 4 users

Available at several branches, see below.

  • (ECH) Chatburn – One available in JF General Childrens Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134096845 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Available
  • (ECL) Clitheroe – One available in JF General Childrens Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134065675 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Available
  • (ML6) Ormskirk Mobile – One available in JF General Childrens Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134055288 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Available
  • (NCA) Carnforth – Two available in JF General Display & Promotional Material JF and JF General Childrens Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134021421 JF General Display & Promotional Material JF Junior Fiction Available Book of the month
    30118134021538 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Available
  • (NFL) Fleetwood – One available in JF General Childrens Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134021504 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Available
  • (NFR) Freckleton – One available in JF General Childrens Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134053853 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Available
  • (NLA) Lancaster – One available in JF General Lending Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134021520 JF General Lending Library JF Junior Fiction Available
    30118134021470 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Overdue (was due back 7th May)
    30118134021447 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Due back 4th September
  • (NMO) Morecambe – One available in JF General Childrens Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134021512 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Available
    30118134054570 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Overdue (was due back 6th August)
    30118134021462 JF General Display & Promotional Material JF Junior Fiction Overdue (was due back 10th August) Book of the month
    30118134021496 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Due back 27th August
  • (NSI) Silverdale – One available in JF General Childrens Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134021488 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Available
  • (SEU) Euxton – One available in JF General Childrens Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134050248 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Available
  • (STA) Tarleton – One available in JF General Childrens Library JF

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134055866 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Available
  • (HBA) Bacup – Earliest copy due back 2nd September

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134050966 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Due back 2nd September
  • (HHA) Haslingden – Earliest copy due back 27th August

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134091333 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Due back 27th August
  • (HRA) Rawtenstall – Earliest copy due back 19th August

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134065048 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Due back 19th August
  • (HWH) Whitworth – Earliest copy due back 8th August

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134094634 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Overdue (was due back 8th August)
  • (NBO) Bolton-le-Sands – Earliest copy due back 19th June

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134021439 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Overdue (was due back 19th June)
  • (NHE) Heysham – Earliest copy due back 5th September

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134021454 JF General Display & Promotional Material JF Junior Fiction Due back 5th September Book of the month
  • (SOR) Ormskirk – Earliest copy due back 27th August

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status Notes
    30118134067747 JF General Childrens Library JF Junior Fiction Due back 27th August

Details

Statement of responsibility: written and drawn by Andy Riley
ISBN: 1444929593, 9781444929591
Intended audience: Juvenile.
Note: Text on inside covers.
Physical Description: 194 pages : illustrations (black and white), map (black and white) ; 19 cm

Reviews

An insanely funny debut children's series from Emmy award-winning writer and cartoonist, Andy Riley
Aldershot News & Mail||The book is funny and fast paced. It's a dream to read alone or to share with children ... Brilliant for 7-12 year olds. Particularly recommended for boys and reluctant readers.
Making Them Readers||Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books.
David Walliams||Two words - such fun!
Miranda Hart||Features an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates
The Guardian||A brisk, bumptious read, full of preposterous names, surreal imagery and daft sound effects.
Financial Times||...full of the most outrageous humour and brilliant detail.
Hatman Reads||...mountains of silliness, bags of inventiveness and lots of charm!
Reading Zone||With illustrations and hearty laughs on every page, this is sure to keep readers in stitches.
The Best New Children's Books Guide||The funniest and most enjoyable book for this age group for quite some time. I even sang the song at the end. And apparently more to come in the series. I can't wait.
Minerva Reads||This book made me (and my sister) laugh out loud a lot; the story is funny, the descriptions are hilarious, the extraordinary characters have fun quirky names and the illustrations made me giggle too. [...] At the end of the book there is the music and lyrics for "The Emperor's Striding Theme" which I am learning to play because like the book it's really funny and everyone deserves a theme tune. I recommend this book to everyone because its fun, quirky and hilarious.
The Guardian Children's Books Young Reviewers||Witty and brilliantly drawn
The Carousel