Skip to Content

Online Library

The Whitby witches. Book 1

The Whitby witches. Book 1

Jarvis, Robin

The Whitby Witches relates the adventures of two orphans, Jennet and Ben. Living in the town of Whitby, they become embroiled in the lives of the fisherfolk - strange creatures who existence is under threat from deadly enemies

Paperback, Book. English. Children's stories. Fantasy fiction.
Published London: Hodder Children's, 2000
from 2 users

No availability records for this item


Statement of responsibility: Robin Jarvis. Book 1
ISBN: 0340788682, 9780340788684
Intended audience: Juvenile.
Note: Originally published: London: Simon & Schuster, 1991.
Physical Description: ix, 308p. : ill. ; 20 cm.
Series: Hodder silver series
Subject: Whitby (England) Juvenile fiction.; Orphans England Whitby Juvenile fiction.

Author note

Robin Jarvis studied graphic design in Newcastle and then worked in television and advertising making model monsters and puppets. He has been a full-time writer and illustrator for some time, and has a large following among children and adults. Robin's books are consistent best-sellers and he has won several awards for his work. The Dark Portal was runner-up for the Smarties Prize in 1989.


The first book in this gripping series, THE WHITBY WITCHES, sees two orphans, Jennet and Ben, arrive in the town of Whitby to live with the elderly Alice Boston. Ben possesses the ability to see things that others cannot, and soon realises that Alice, too, has unusual powers. Then he meets the fisher folk, strange creatures who are blighted by a curse which destines them to die in childbirth.

A WARLOCK IN WHITBY introduces Nathaniel Crozier "the most evil man on Earth" and the fish demon, both of whom pose a terrible threat to Whitby and the fisher folk. And THE WHITBY CHILD sees another gruesome creature emerge from the harbour to wreak havoc on the lives of the inhabitants of Whitby.