Skip to Content
The poems of Wilfred Owen

The poems of Wilfred Owen

Owen, Wilfred, 1893-1918; Stallworthy, Jon

This is the definitive single-volume edition of the work of the greatest poet of the First World War, whose death in battle a few days before Armistice was the most disastrous loss to English letters since Keats. Containing the texts of all the finished poems of Owen's maturity and twelve important fragments, with extensive notes, it derives from Jon Stallworthy's monumental edition of theComplete Poems and Fragments(1983) and is aimed at the student and general reader alike

Paperback, Book. English.
Published London: Chatto & Windus, 1989, c1985
Rate this

Available at Ripon Library & Customer Services Centre.

This item is not reservable because:

  • There are no reservable copies for this title. Please contact a member of library staff for further information.
  • Ripon Library & Customer Services Centre – One available in Adult Non Fiction 821.OWEN

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status
    125987064 Adult Non Fiction 821.OWEN Adult Non Fiction Available
  • Whitby Library & Customer Services Centre – Earliest copy due back 1st September

    Barcode Shelfmark Loan type Status
    125987056 Adult Non Fiction 821.OWEN Adult Non Fiction Due back 1st September


Statement of responsibility: edited and introduced by Jon Stallworthy
ISBN: 0701136618, 9780701136611
Note: Originally published: London: Hogarth, 1985.
Note: Includes index.
Physical Description: xxiv,200p.
Series: Chatto poetry
Subject: Poetry in English 1900-1945 Texts

Author note

Jon Stallworthy, born in 1935, was educated at Rugby, in the Royal West African Frontier Force, and at Magdalen College, Oxford, where he won the Newdigate Prize of Poetry. Formerly the poetry editor of Oxford University Press, Stallworthy is professor emeritus of English at the University of Oxford, and a Fellow of the British Academy and of the Royal Society of Literature. He has published seven books of poetry. His biography of Wilfred Owen won the Duff Cooper Memorial Prize, the W. H. Smith Literary Award, and the E. M. Forster Award of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.